editing my photography

Many people recently requested me to explain how I edit my photos on Instagram, so I decided to explain with some supportive photos over here and give you some main tips on photography as well.

Let’s jump right in. To begin with the actual photo… I take my photos with the Nikon D3100 from my parents. Sometimes, but really rarely, with my phone (an iPhone 5c). The only app I use for editing my photos is VSCO. I just picked my recent shot from Instagram to show you the progress of editing…

Here is just the plain unedited photo to begin with…

image

I’m currently using the A6 filter with a strength of about 8.4, so that you can see an affect but it doesn’t look too unnatural, edited.

image

The next things I do almost always depend on the photo itself. But with mostly every photo I increase the temperature a little bit, about from +0 and +1.1.

image

The next things I do, as I told you, depend on the photo itself. With this one I increased the contrast a bit to highlight the beautiful contrast between sunshine and shadows.

image

Another thing I did with this was taking the exposure a little upwards.

image

And voilà. Here we have the finished post. Simple, wasn’t it? and it still looks really natural, but manages to support my brownish, black and white theme, which I like a lot.

image

The last thing to give you on your way for editing your photos are some main tips on photography I can give you itself. Because, well, you can only start editing you photos when you have some good quality photos at hand. Some most important things to achieve that are following…

The most important thing is the lightning. Always take photos in natural lightning to prevent from getting grainy, low-quality photos. We all know the scene. You take nice photos, you really like and such and then the quality isn’t really a bummer, which makes you feel really miserable and we don’t want that, do we?

The next tip is referring to lighting as well. With time I started to accept that some days, or better most days, there’s not that perfect ‘not too bright nor dark’ lightning. It is something like the photographers dream, that perfect lightning. So start working with what you have. It’s super sunny? Strange shadows seem to ruin your photos? So what? Make an achievement out of them. Like ‘when life gives you lemons, make lemonade’. Like I did with this photo. The shadows and sunshine give the photo a pretty special atmosphere, in my opinion. You can also experiment with various objects and the different shadows they throw. It can create incredibly unique shots.

The last two tips I have sound pretty simple, but might actually be quite hard to achieve. Be yourself, but also keep trying new things, experimenting. Try to find out what message, what story, you want to send out through your photography. Get out there. Watch the work of others. Look at photos on Pinterest similar to the kind of photos you want to take. Try to re-create the ones you like and when you get bored with that, start thinking of new things. Go out again. Keep your eyes open and use everything around you to get inspired. Photography is a lot about feeling and seeing, what isn’t visible at first sight. Remember that and then wander new places, get to know new people and almost take your camera, if possible. That’s how you get inspired, how you get the photos and then you edit them, always staying true to yourself.

yours, anna xx

Leave a Reply

