de Paris.

Bonjour, mes amis. Je ne sais pas si tu sais, mais j’aime français, privilégié la ville de Paris. I know, I know, I’m getting back to english now, but since I have recently been to Paris for the fifths time and it it starting to feel a tiny bit like a second home, I thought I’d tell you a bit about my love for the city d’amour and throw in some shots I took throughout my time there while I’m at it. Before we get started, if you are from Paris or France, I do not mean to offend in any way. Things as the typical clothing style surely do not mesh with everyone and I know that.

image

 

Let’s talk about the Parisian clothing style first. As you might know, I am obsessed with the simplicity and at the same time elegancy of the Parisian clothing style. I like the thought of putting on red lipstick and pulling up ones hair only to go out to pick up breakfast (though I’d probably never be brave enough to actually do that, but if it’d be part of the simple life, maybe I would…?). Beside the hair styles and make-up I can most identify with the clothes itself. There aren’t many colors when referring to a Parisian outfit. There is black and white, sometimes red in accessories, as a nail polish or lipstick, and then sometimes there is this light shade of brown and that’s it. Black and white stripes play a big role in french fashion, just as coats, turtle neck sweaters, blouses and very feminine shoes. The accessories are kept simple, just as the colors and clothes itself. There might be small earrings such as pearls and surely perfume. And while at it- Have you ever seen a Parisian woman walk around carrying a bag pack? No, you have not of course. It is common to have all important things in a small handbag. All in all the Parisian clothing style is kept very simple with little highlights, but mostly very expensive as the clothes usually is of well-known brands.

image

image

image

To get on to the food. Everyone knows Paris for their good and mostly exquisite kitchen. While there are quite many specialities, I find myself drawn to french pastries and bread. This sounds very boring indeed, but Paris is the best place to get a Baguette. A long bread, you think? Far more than that. Bakeries all around the city sell fresh Baguettes with almost anything you can imagine. Chicken, salad, turkey, tomatoes, mozzarella and so on and on, and you cannot imagine how good a lunch this makes. Every time I have yet been to Paris, I mostly ate bread, for like the whole week and it does not even get boring, I swear. Another french treat I love are croissants. I can never get enough of them. I mean, you can have them all around the world mostly, but a croissant in Paris? Even the thought makes it taste a hundred times better. Surely I have to talk about Crêpes as well. As a kid who grew up eating mostly nothing but Crêpes when- and wherever I could, eating this in Paris is a match made in heaven. Just like croissants they taste better than anywhere else and are can be ordered in what feels like a hundred variations, sweet and salty and can be bought every 200 meters. Not to forget Paris special and exquisite treat the Macaron. It is a sweet treat that comes in different colors and flavors. The price of it is pretty shockingly expensive but if you ever get to Paris just treat yourself to a few and enjoy.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The following paragraph will refer to the experience I have made according to the people and language in Paris. The times I have been there I have made good and bad experiences alike. With my family, when I have been to Paris the first few times, people on the street weren’t willing to help to help us find a certain Metro station for example, acting as if they could not understand us in neither English nor simple French. The last two times, this had changed. I have had people just suddenly starting to talk to me, asking me if I need help or where I am from, being interested in who visits their city. Referring to the language I would definitely recommend you to have some french vocabulary at hand when going to Paris. Just look up some words or phrases you think could be helpful in advance. If you want me to I can even send you a vocab list with useful stuff I made for my class for my most recent trip to Paris. Don’t be afraid to ask!

image

Lastly I have a few tips for you on places you should visit (places I like best). The top tip from me, which I keep taking about is that if you want to see Paris from above, then you should not go up the Eiffel Tower (which is a fun thing if you go up by stairs, don’t get me wrong). In my opinion you have the best view on Paris from the Arc de Triomphe, because from there you get to see the Eiffel Tower and believe me, it is simply so beautiful. You will not regret it! A must-visit tip is for all my bookworms is Shakespeare and Company near Notre Dame. It is a heaven for all people who love books, even to those who do not. Many books have been written about it and throughout the many years it has already existed many incredible people have been there (such as Allen Ginsberg!!!). Juts give it a chance and thank me later. The area all around the bookstore in general is my favorite to be around in Paris, because it unites a lot of lovely thing. In many little streets there you can get all kinds of different foods, there a little parcs to rest with benches and small stores and great places to get souvenirs for an acceptable amount of money. So if you only have a day in Paris, spend you time all around Notre Dame and check out the view from the Arc de Triomphe and you’ll be all set! So this is a big yes to the Paris! By the way, you are free to send me question referring to a trip to Paris any time and I will try to answer them as best as I can.

image

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

